| Author |
Message |
ccast
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:57 pm Post subject: SpamHaus |
|
|
I have been using MaxBulk Mailer for a while, however, my last mailing would not go out.
I now receive a message from the mail server
"JunkMail rejected - " followed by my external IP address, my internal NAT address and the next line which states that address is in an RBL.
A URL is listed, http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?=74.xx.xx.xx which then takes me to a web site that indicates that the range of addresses I am in are in a Policy Based List (PBL)
IP Address Lookup
74.xx.xx.xxis not listed in the SBL
74.xx.xx.xis listed in the PBL, in the following records:
* PBL138272
74.xx.xx.xxis not listed in the XBL
Following the PBL link I see the message
Ref: PBL138272
74.76.0.0/14 is listed on the Policy Block List (PBL)
This IP range has been identified by Spamhaus as not meeting our policy for IPs which should deliver 'direct-to-mx' mail to PBL users
------------------------------
So - My question is, why I am delivering 'direct-to-mx' mail? Why doesn't MaxBulk Mail operate with my ISP's POP server the same way other mail clients operate.
I have a very simple mailing list for members of a community group. Although I enjoy the automation of MaxBulk - I do not want to violate any bulk-mail policy of my ISP or become flagged as a spam source!
Are there setting in MaxBulk that I am not aware of that will basically make the email submitted to the POP Server appear to be just like it were coming from Thunderbird, for instance? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
stanbusk Site Admin
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 Posts: 2372
|
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 7:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
| MaxBulk Mailer doesn't perform direct MX server deliveries. MaxBulk Mailer can only be used using a standard SMTP server. This is the reason why the settings panel ask you for your SMTP server. In that range of IPs I guess someone else has done direct MX server deliveries. You should contact the server postmaster. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ccast
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:22 am Post subject: Thanks |
|
|
OK - I figured it out. It must be that for a long time I was actually not fully authenticating and sending through my ISP mail server! It also must be that this ISP is tightening down and enforcing authentication for sending. As I read the log more carefully I found out what was missing.
I use HostForWeb and the setting that worked is ESMTP to the smtp server for my account. What I neglected in my set up is that my email username is actually "user+domainname" and I simply had user. Since that worked in the past I was off following other announcements in the messages that were returned without conquering the first, probably most important one - like user authentication failed.
Once the setting was corrected all is fine. Thank you for your help. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|